Victoria's current restriction levels.

What you need to know

  • To help slow the spread of coronavirus (COVID-19), stay safe by regularly washing your hands, keeping at least 1.5 metres from other people, and staying home if you feel unwell.
  • If you have symptoms of coronavirus (COVID-19) get tested.
  • From 6pm on 2 August, stage 4 restrictions are in place across metropolitan Melbourne.
  • From 11:59pm on 2 August, the use of face coverings is mandatory throughout Victoria.
  • From 11:59pm on 5 August, stage 3 restrictions apply throughout regional Victoria.
  • The New South Wales border is closed. Victorian residents require a permit to enter New South Wales.

What you can do

Check our information and advice about current restriction levels in place in the restricted areas and elsewhere throughout Victoria.


Restrictions map

Use our map to find your location and the restrictions in place from 11:59pm, 8 July 2020.

Directions issued by Victoria’s Chief Health Officer

The State of Emergency provides the Chief Health Officer with additional powers to issue directions to help contain the spread of coronavirus and keep Victorians safe.

The application and implications of directions issued by the Chief Health Officer are reviewed daily.

State of Emergency

Extends the current Declaration of State of Emergency through to 11.59pm 16 August 2020.  Signed by Minister for Health, Jenny Mikakos, MP.

Area Directions

Area Directions identify areas within Victoria which have a higher prevalence of, or risk of exposure to, coronavirus (COVID-19) and which are subject to specific directions which are reasonably necessary to protect public health. The Area Directions (No 5) come into force at 11:59pm on 30 July 2020 and replace the Area Directions (No 4).


Detention Directions

These Directions revoke the Detention Directions applied for public housing locations in Flemington and North Melbourne, with effect on 11.59pm 9 July 2020.

Stay at Home (Restricted Areas)

These directions require everyone who lives in a restricted area to limit their interactions with others by restricting the circumstances in which they may leave home and by placing restrictions on gatherings. The Stay at Home Directions (Restricted Areas) (No 7) come into force at 7.59pm on 2 August 2020 and replace the Stay at Home Directions (Restricted Areas) (No 6).

Restricted Activity (Restricted Areas)

The purpose of these directions is to restrict the operation of certain businesses and undertakings in the Restricted Areas in order to limit the spread of coronavirus (COVID-19). The Restricted Activity Directions (Restricted Areas) (No 5) came into force at 11:59 pm on 2 August 2020 and replace the Restricted Activity Directions (Restricted Areas) (No 4) and Restricted Activity Directions (Restricted Areas) (No 3)

Restricted activities

These directions place restrictions on businesses and other organisations, and limit recreational, cultural and entertainment activities. The Restricted Activity Directions (No 16) come into force at 11:59pm on 2 August 2020 and replace the Restricted Activity Directions (No 15).

Stay safe

These directions outline the limitations on leaving home for all Victorians. The Stay Safe Directions (No 9) come into force at 11.59pm on 2 August 2020 and replace the Stay Safe Directions (No 8).

Care facilities

This direction replaces the Care facilities direction, previously the Aged Care facilities direction, which restricted entry to all aged care facilities. It continues restrictions to care facilities, including alcohol and drug rehabilitation facilities, disability residential care and homelessness residential facilities. The Care Facilities Directions (No 9) come into force at 11:59pm on 3 August 2020 and replace the Care Facilities Directions (No 8).

Visit the Visiting care facilities for more information.

For the latest resources and information for the aged care sector, visit the Aged care sector coronavirus page.

Direction and detention notice

This direction is issued to people arriving in Victoria from overseas and advises them they must go into immediate compulsory quarantine for 14 days. The Direction and Detention Notice (No 7) come into force at 11:59pm on 19 July 2020 and replace the Direction and Detention Notice (No 6).

Visit the Information for overseas travellers page for more information.

Diagnosed persons and close contacts

These directions replace the Isolation (Diagnosis) directions and require persons diagnosed with coronavirus to self-isolate and persons who are living with a diagnosed person, or who have been in close contact with a diagnosed person, to self-quarantine. The Diagnosed Persons and Close Contacts Directions (No 8) come into force at 11:59pm on 3 August 2020 and replace the Diagnosed Persons and Close Contacts Directions (No 6).

Hospital visitors

These directions restrict entry into hospitals to minimise the risk of spreading coronavirus among hospital patients and staff. Paid workers and volunteers can enter as usual, but there are restrictions on the age and number of visitors for patients, and limits on the duration of visits. The Hospital Visitor Directions (No 9) come into force at 11:59pm on 22 July 2020 and replace the Hospital Visitor Directions (No 8).

Visit the Visiting hospitals for more information.

Revocation of airport arrivals and cruise ships directions

This direction revokes the Airport arrivals and Cruise ship docking directions, recognising that both have now been superseded by the compulsory quarantine Direction and Detention notice.

Related information