The Victorian Government, through Family Safety Victoria provides $1.1 million annually, to support community led projects that educate, prevent, reduce and respond to family violence in Victorian Aboriginal communities.

These projects address priorities that are identified by the eleven Dhelk Dja Action Groups in Victoria.

The fund supports projects that:

  • Are Aboriginal led, including Aboriginal led partnerships
  • Are consistent with the goals and objectives of the Dhelk Dja Action Groups and strengthen the capacity of Aboriginal communities and Aboriginal organisations to address family violence at a local level
  • Will provide an on-going or long-term benefit to the community
  • Complement existing local community projects or initiatives and demonstrate partnerships with other government or non-government initiatives
  • Align with Dhelk Dja: Safe Our Way – Strong Culture, Strong Peoples, Strong Families 10 Year Agreement (2018-2028)

Community Initiatives Fund 2021-22 funding round

Victorian Aboriginal organisations and/or Aboriginal community groups can submit applications for once off funding for projects of varying amounts. A total of $100,000 is allocated per region.

The funding round will open in the second part of 2021.

More information

For more information, contact your Regional Coordinator located in the Dhelk Dja Action Group regions.

Metropolitan Dhelk Dja Action Groups

Eastern Metropolitan Region

Trudy Rigney

Regional Coordinator

Mob: 0447 235 130

Email: trudy.rigney@dffh.vic.gov.au

Northern Metropolitan Region

Lynda Whitaker

Regional Coordinator

Mob: 0418 900 718

Email:  lynda.whitaker@dffh.vic.gov.au

Southern Metropolitan Region

Eliza Mango

Regional Coordinator

Mob: 0447 670 135

Email:  eliza.mango@dffh.vic.gov.au

Western Metropolitan Region

Jacqueline Watkins

Regional Coordinator

Mob: 0418 923 986

Email:  jacqueline.watkins@dffh.vic.gov.au

Regional Dhelk Dja Action Groups

Barwon South West Region

Tania Dalton

Regional Coordinator

Mob: 0417 396 946

Email: tania.dalton@dffh.vic.gov.au

Grampians Region

Ricky Davies 

Regional Coordinator

Mob: 0429 334 076

Email:  ricky.davies@dffh.vic.gov.au  

Hume Region

Kellie Marsters

Regional Coordinator

Mob: 0448 946 101

Email:  kellie.marsters@dffh.vic.gov.au 

Inner Gippsland Region

Shannon Nicholson

Regional Coordinator

Mob: 0429 423 152

Email:  shannon.nicholson@dffh.vic.gov.au

Loddon Campaspe Region

Ann Spittles

Regional Coordinator

Mob: 0428 528 175

Email: anne.spittles@dffh.vic.gov.au

Mallee Region

Vacant

East Gippsland Region

Glenys Watts

Regional Coordinator

Mob: 0417 798 380

Email: glenys.watts@dffh.vic.gov.au