The Victorian Government, through Family Safety Victoria is providing $1.1 million in 2019-20, to support community led projects that educate, prevent, reduce and respond to family violence in Victorian Aboriginal communities.

These projects address priorities that are identified by the eleven Dhelk Dja Action Groups in Victoria.

The fund supports projects that:

  • Are Aboriginal led, including Aboriginal led partnerships
  • Are consistent with the goals and objectives of the Dhelk Dja Action Groups and strengthen the capacity of Aboriginal communities and Aboriginal organisations to address family violence at a local level
  • Will provide an on-going or long-term benefit to the community
  • Complement existing local community projects or initiatives and demonstrate partnerships with other government or non-government initiatives
  • Align with Dhelk Dja: Safe Our Way – Strong Culture, Strong Peoples, Strong Families 10 Year Agreement (2018-2028)

Community Initiatives Fund 2019-20 funding round

Victorian Aboriginal organisations and/or Aboriginal community groups can submit applications for once off funding for projects of varying amounts. A total of $100,000 is allocated per region.

Funding will be made available for projects to be delivered from February 2020 to February 2021.

To apply, download a copy of the Aboriginal Community Initiatives Fund guidelines and application form and contact your Regional Coordinator (see More information for contact details).

Key dates

  • 16 October 2019 - Call for applications
  • 27 November 2019 5pm - Application closing date and time
  • 9 - 13 December 2019 - CIF Regional Assessment Panels and applicant interviews convened
  • January 2020 - All applicants advised of outcome 
  • February 2020 - Project commencement
  • February 2021 - Project completion

More information

For more information, contact your Regional Coordinator located in the Dhelk Dja Action Group regions.

Metropolitan Dhelk Dja Action Groups

Eastern Metropolitan Region

Thomas Harrison

Regional Coordinator

Mob: 0400 732 869

Email: thomas.harrison@dhhs.vic.gov.au

Northern Metropolitan Region

Lynda Whitaker

Regional Coordinator

Mob: 0429 524 591

Email: lynda.whitaker@dhhs.vic.gov.au

Southern Metropolitan Region

Roxanne Mayer-Marks

Regional Coordinator

Mob: 0407 813 660

Email: roxanne.mayer-marks@dhhs.vic.gov.au

Western Metropolitan Region

Krystal Cutajar

Statewide Coordinator, Family Safety Victoria

Mob: 0438 958 648

Email: krystal.cutajar@familysafety.vic.gov.au

Regional Dhelk Dja Action Groups

Barwon South West Region

Tania Dalton

Regional Coordinator

Mob: 0417 396 946

Email: tania.dalton@dhhs.vic.gov.au

Grampians Region

Krystal Cutajar

Statewide Coordinator, Family Safety Victoria

Mob: 0438 958 648

Email: krystal.cutajar@familysafety.vic.gov.au

 

Hume Region

Tracy Hardie

Regional Coordinator

Mob: 0417 306 349

Email: tracy.hardie@dhhs.vic.gov.au

Inner Gippsland Region

Troy McDonald

Senior Advisor

Mob: 0447 227 084

Email: troy.mcdonald@dhhs.vic.gov.au

Loddon Campaspe Region

Ann Spittles

Regional Coordinator

Mob: 0428 528 175

Email: ann.spittles@dhhs.vic.gov.au

Mallee Region

Wayne Pryor

Regional Coordinator

Mob: 0418 625 876

Email: wayne.pryor@dhhs.vic.gov.au

Outer Gippsland Region

Glenys Watts

Regional Coordinator

Mob: 0417 798 380

Email: glenys.watts@dhhs.vic.gov.au