Back to updates
08 July 2020
Find out about the border restrictions for Victorians between Victoria, and New South Wales and South Australia.

New South Wales

New South Wales (NSW) has temporarily shut its border with Victoria to contain the spread of coronavirus (COVID-19).

NSW border entry permit

Anyone seeking to enter NSW may apply for a NSW border entry permit.

Under the NSW Public Health (COVID-19 Border Control) Order 2020, anyone who has been in Victoria in the last 14 days may only enter NSW if:

If you travel from Melbourne to New South Wales, you will be required to self-isolate for a period of 14 days once you arrive at your place of residence or suitable accommodation. 

Border region residents

A new border region resident permit has been introduced, allowing residents in the expanded border region to cross the New South Wales -Victorian border. 

Find out how to apply for a New South Wales border entry permit.

Read more about New South Wales-Victoria border restrictions.

You can also call the border closure hotline number on 13 77 88 for more information.

South Australia

South Australia (SA) has temporarily shut its border with Victoria to contain the spread of coronavirus (COVID-19).

People from Victoria, other than approved categories of Essential Travellers, are not permitted to travel to South Australia (SA). 

Checkpoints or road-blocks are set up at all border crossings between South Australia and Victoria. 

Cross Border Community Members on the South Australian-Victorian border are now permitted to enter SA if they reside within 40km of the border for essential purposes only. To apply for cross border travel register on the South Australian webpage.

You must have had a coronavirus (COVID-19) test within the last seven days.

Visit the domestic travel restrictions webpage on the South Australian government site and head to the Victoria section.