The department’s key staff and the governance arrangements fundamental to supporting our business and ensuring we deliver on our strategic priorities.

Key staff

Secretary, Professor Euan Wallace AM

The Secretary is directly responsible for management of the Department of Health and Human Services.

Euan commenced as Secretary of the Victorian Department of Health and Human Services in November 2020.

Find out more about Euan on the Our Secretary page.

Executive Board membership

The Executive Board collectively provides stewardship of the department and the service system by providing information and advice to the Secretary who, in turn, is responsible to Government and Ministers. It assists the Secretary with strategic leadership to meet the department’s objectives, direction setting, and to ensure compliance and improve performance.

The Executive Board comprises deputy secretaries who are directly responsible for a specific division within our departmental structure:

  • Euan Wallace, Secretary, Department of Health and Human Services (chair)
  • Chris Asquini, Deputy Secretary, Deputy Secretary, Community Services Operations
  • Terry Symonds, Deputy Secretary, Health and Wellbeing
  • Amity Durham, Deputy Secretary, Strategy and Planning
  • Melissa Skilbeck, Deputy Secretary, Regulation, Health Protection and Emergency Management
  • Simone Corin Acting Deputy Secretary, Children and Families
  • Chris Hotham, Deputy Secretary, Infrastructure
  • Greg Stenton, Deputy Secretary, Corporate Services
  • Jacinda de Witts, Deputy Secretary, Legal and Executive Services
  • Ben Rimmer, Deputy Secretary, Housing
  • Nick Chiam, Deputy Secretary, Organisational Transformation
  • Andrew Minack, Deputy Secretary, COVID Intelligence, Data and Corporate
  • Nicola Quin, Deputy Secretary, COVID Intelligence, Data and Corporate
  • Brigid Monagle, Deputy Secretary, COVID-19 Policy and Strategy
  • Katherine Whetton, Deputy Secretary, COVID-19 Policy and Strategy
  • Sandy Pitcher, Deputy Secretary, Case Management, Contact Tracing and Outbreak
  • Jeroen Weimar, Deputy Secretary, Community Engagement and Testing

The CEOs from the administrative offices in our department join the Executive Board once a month.

  • Lance Emerson, CEO, Victorian Agency for Health Information 
  • Ann Maree Keenan, Acting CEO, Safer Care Victoria
  • Eleri Butler, CEO, Family Safety Victoria
  • Pam Anders, CEO, Mental Health Reform Victoria
Subcommittee structures

Our subcommittees are advisory in nature and make recommendations to the Executive Board about matters within their remit.  

Five stewardship subcommittees provide advice to the Executive Board (for example on financial, people and information technology matters):

  • Aboriginal Outcomes
  • Business Technology and Information Management
  • Capital
  • Finance and Budget
  • People and Culture.

Five reform subcommittees are time-specific and focus on implementing the government’s reform agenda and complex departmental initiatives:

  • Health Reform
  • Integrated Community Services
  • NDIS Readiness
  • Organisational Transformation
  • Quality and Experience.

Terms of Reference

The department’s collective Executive Board and subcommittee arrangements complement its existing decision making and delegation mechanisms.

Each subcommittee has terms of reference approved by the Executive Board that establishes its purpose and structure.

Terms of reference will be reviewed annually for their effectiveness and currency.

Additional committee structures

Three stand-alone committees support statutory assurance responsibilities of the Secretary and may include independent or non-executive members to provide expertise and advice. They are:

  • Audit and Risk Management committee
  • Executive Remuneration committee
  • Occupational Health and Safety Consultation committee.

Related resources